News Release: Student Life

Nov. 17,  2008

No. 4 Emory Sweeps UAA Men's Soccer Awards

From Emory Athletics News

Fourth-ranked Emory University’s historic season continued Friday, as for the first time in the history of the program, the Eagles swept the University Athletic Association’s (UAA) postseason awards.  Emory senior Patrick Carver was named a UAA Co-Player of the Year, freshman Ben Schlang was named the UAA’s Rookie of the Year, and Head Coach Sonny Travis and his assistants were honored as the conference’s Coaching Staff of the Year.  In addition, a program-record eight Eagles earned a spot on the all-UAA teams.

Carver, who shared the honor with Ricky Griffin of Carnegie Mellon University (marking the first time the UAA has named co-Players of the Year), earned his second-straight UAA Player of the Year honor, becoming the first Emory men’s soccer player to do so.  This season, the senior has led the team with 13 goals and 33 points, including three goals and three assists in UAA matches, and moved into second place in school history with 129 career points and 50 points.  Carver was also named to the all-UAA first team for the second time in his career, and has earned an all-UAA honor in each of his four collegiate seasons.

Carver joins Nate Micklos of Rochester (2004 and 2005) and Adam Hibshman of Carnegie Mellon University (2000, 2001, and 2002) as the only UAA players to earn multiple Player of the Year honors.  The award marks the seventh time an Emory player has been named the UAA’s Player of the Year. 

Ben Schlang becomes the second player in Emory history to earn UAA Rookie of the Year honors, following in Carver’s footsteps, who earned the honor in 2005.  He finished the year leading all UAA players in conference matches with three game-winning goals, and ranked third in the conference with three assists in UAA matches, fifth with nine points, and eighth with three goals.  Overall during the season, the freshman recorded nine goals, five assists and 23 points, including a team-high five game-winning goals.  Schlang was also named an honorable mention to the all-UAA team.

This season marks the first time that the Emory coaches have garnered the UAA’s Coaching Staff of the Year honors.  In his second season with the team, Head Coach Sonny Travis, along with his assistants Jacques Edeline, Ben McKenzie, and Daniel Guertin, have led the squad to a school record in victories and Emory’s first UAA Championship since the 1998 season.

In addition to the all-UAA honors awarded to Carver and Schlang, Marc Del Marmol and Jacob Roche were named to the all-UAA first team, Jordan Edelman and Jonathan Laycock were named to the second team, and Andre Jakubowski and Patrick McFarland were named honorable mentions.

Del Marmol finished the regular season with a career-best eight goals and 17 points, including three game-winning goals.  The senior led all Emory players with 11 points in UAA play, and was second in the conference with five UAA goals.  This is the second all-UAA honor for Del Marmol, who was named to the second team last season.

Roach headlined the Emory defense during the season, helping the squad to a 0.64 goals against average during the campaign.  The senior started 16 of 17 games for the Eagles during the season, scoring one goal.  This is the first postseason honor of Roche’s Emory career.

Edelman will finish his career with two all-UAA honors, after being named an honorable mention last season.  The defender started 16 of 17 games on Emory’s backline, recording a career high five assists.

In his first season between the pipes for Emory, Laycock has emerged as one of the top goalkeepers in the conference.  The senior led all UAA players with a .857 save percentage in UAA contests, and his 0.54 goals-against average in conference matches was second-best in the UAA.  Laycock has tied a school record with 16 wins this season, and is on pace to set a school record with a 0.34 overall goals-against average during the year.  This is the first postseason honor for Laycock.

Jakubowski has played in 16 games for the Emory defense, starting 15, and has contributed to the team’s 11 shutouts in 17 matches this season.  On the offensive end, he has also scored a goal during the season.  This is the second-career all-UAA honor for Jakubowski, who earned all-UAA second team honors last season.

McFarland finished the campaign leading all UAA players with four assists in conference matches, and all Emory players with 11 assists overall.  The senior also scored three goals during the season, two of which came in conference play, good for 17 points overall.  McFarland is ranked third in school history with 31 career assists, and 11th in Emory history with 89 career points.  This is the second all-UAA honor of McFarland’s career, following his second-team honor in 2007.

The Eagles, who finished the regular season with a 16-1-0 overall record, will host their NCAA Tournament second round match on Sunday at 1:00 PM, against North Carolina Wesleyan College.


News Release Tools