News Release: Student Life

Feb. 6,  2009

Community Building, Social Change Provide Focus for New Fellows

Fellowship is a national model for engaged learning programs

News Article Image2009 Fellows: (From left, standing) Aaron Rutledge, Sam Skardon, Loren Crawford, Richelle Gosman, Alex Wasserman, Jessica Bauldry, Crystal Spence and Yolande Tomlinson. (From left, seated) Michael Rich (OUCP director), Karla Fleckenstein, Kataja Saddler, Cassandra Webster, Jacqueline Woo and Kate Grace (CBSC fellowship director).

Emory University announces its seventh class of undergraduates for the competitive Emory Community Building and Social Change Fellowship. A successful centerpiece of Emory's Office of University-Community Partnerships (OUCP), the fellowship is a national model for engaged learning programs.

The fellowship provides undergraduates with a comprehensive year of training, research and experience culminating in an intensive summer-long practicum working on community initiatives in metro Atlanta. The program also helps Emory continue to foster long-term, dedicated initiatives with various Atlanta neighborhoods and community groups.

Results of past fellows’ work include the completion of 25 projects that have produced policy change, new programs and entities, and funding for projects. Fellows also have expanded the capacity of existing community initiatives to effectively address issues such as HIV/AIDS, affordable housing, public education quality, urban sprawl, citizen engagement and more.

Listen to Julia Cadwallendar, a senior at Emory College, speaking about her experiences as a Community Building and Social Change Fellow.

The fellows are chosen by an advisory committee of 11 faculty members from nine departments and programs. Students selected for the competitive program receive a stipend of $3,500 for their summer community work, a summer housing allowance, 12 hours of academic credit and a summer tuition scholarship. For more information about the fellowship and recruitment, contact OUCP at 404-712-9893.

The 2009 Fellows include:

Jessica Bauldry
Senior, Anthropology/Global Health
Lawrenceville, Ga.

Loren Crawford
Junior, Political Science/Psychology
Harlem, Ga.

Karla Fleckenstein
Senior, Political Science/Psychology
Denver, Colo.

Richelle Gosman
Junior, Sociology/English
Covington, Ga.

Aaron Rutledge
Junior, Sociology
Lewis Center, Ohio

Kataja Saddler
Junior, Sociology
Riverdale, Ga.

Sam Skardon
Junior, History
Mt. Pleasant, S.C.

Crystal Spence
Junior, Business
Cranston, R.I.

Alex Wasserman
Junior, Sociology/Global Health
Coral Gables, Fla.

Cassandra Webster
Sophomore, Political Science/Sociology
Atlanta, Ga.

Jacqueline Wood
Sophomore, Economics


News Release Tools