News Release: People, Research

Aug. 5,  2010

Emory Researchers Named Fellows of the Association for Psychological Science

Two Emory University faculty members have been awarded the distinction of Association for Psychological Science (APS) Fellows. Darryl Neill, professor of psychology, and Kim Wallen, the Samuel Candler Dobbs Professor of Psychology and Behavioral Neuroendocrinology and a researcher at Emory's Yerkes National Primate Research Center. This year, 39 members were honored by APS for their outstanding contributions to the science of psychology in the areas of research, teaching, service and application.

Neill studies the "reward systems" of the mammalian brain, covering the neuroanatomy and neurochemistry of brain mechanisms for mood, motivation, and reward. These systems are relevant to understanding the biological bases of depression and drug abuse. He is one of the founders of Emory's Neuroscience and Behavioral Biology Program in the Emory College of Arts and Sciences, and teaches hundreds of students a year in courses concerned with brain processes and behavior.

Wallen focuses his work on the interaction between hormones and social context on the development and expression of sexual and sex-related behavior in nonhuman primates and humans. His lab is currently investigating hormonal therapies for post-menopausal women and the role of prenatal hormones on sexually differentiated behavior, social status and neuroendocrine function in rhesus monkeys. His human research also investigates sex differences in response to visual sexual stimuli by using fMRI and eye-tracking methodologies.

The Association for Psychological Science is a nonprofit organization dedicated to the advancement of scientific psychology and its representation at the national and international level.


News Release Tools