News Release: School of Medicine

Jun. 10,  2010

Emergency Medicine Physicians Receive Leadership Accolades at National Meeting

Emory University Department of Emergency Medicine faculty members attending the annual Society for Academic Emergency Medicine (SAEM) meeting in Phoenix received recognition for numerous organizational leadership roles.

Deb Houry, MD, MPH, associate professor, vice chair for research, and director of the Center for Injury Control, has been elected president-elect of the Society for Academic Emergency Medicine.

Douglas Ander, MD, associate professor and assistant dean for medical education, has been elected chair of the SAEM Academy of Clerkship Directors in Emergency Medicine (CDEM).

Philip Shayne, MD, associate professor and vice chair for education, has been elected to the position of president, Emergency Medicine Council of Residency Directors (CORD).

"These are three outstanding examples of national emergency medicine leadership," says Katherine Heilpern, MD, chair of the Department of Emergency Medicine and past SAEM president.

"The incredible thing about this is that three Emory faculty now sit at the helm of the premier research and education society for academic emergency medicine - SAEM, the premier organization representing all emergency medicine residency programs - CORD, and the premier organization representing all School of Medicine emergency medicine clerkships and medical student education initiatives - CDEM," says Heilpern. "No other program in the country has so commanded its specialty at the same point in time - this is historical."

Formed in 1989, SAEM is dedicated to the improvement of care of the acutely ill and injured patient by improving research and education. To achieve this mission, SAEM influences health policy through forums, publications, inter-organizational collaboration, policy development, and consultation services for physicians, teachers, researchers, and students. SAEM represents excellence and leadership in academic emergency medicine and its values include idealism and quality in all endeavors, nurturing and camaraderie and diversity among members, as well as creative and symbiotic interactions with other organizations.

SAEM provides administrative support to the Association of Academic Chairs of Emergency Medicine (AACEM) and the Council of Emergency Medicine Residency Directors (CORD), as well as to the SAEM journal, Academic Emergency Medicine (AEM). 


The Robert W. Woodruff Health Sciences Center of Emory University is an academic health science and service center focused on missions of teaching, research, health care and public service.

Learn more about Emory’s health sciences:
Twitter: @emoryhealthsci

News Release Tools

  • Print

News Releases

The news release you are currently viewing is part of an archive of Emory health sciences press releases, dating Sept. 2008 - Dec. 2011.

To View Current Releases

Emory News Center

Emory News Center

To View News Archives

News Archives

News Archives