News Release: Emory Healthcare , School of Medicine

Jun. 7,  2010

Two Emory Radiologists Inducted as American College of Radiology Fellows

Two Emory University School of Medicine radiologists have been inducted as fellows into the American College of Radiology (ACR).

Patricia A. Hudgins, MD, FACR, professor of radiology and otorhinolaryngology, and Deborah A. Baumgarten, MD, MPH, FACR, associate professor of radiology, were both recently inducted during a formal convocation ceremony during the 87th American College of Radiology Annual Meeting in Washington, DC.

Being named a Fellow is one of the highest honors the ACR can bestow on a radiologist, radiation oncologist or medical physicist. ACR Fellows demonstrate a history of service to the college, organized radiology, teaching or research. Only approximately 10 percent of ACR members have achieved this designation.

"Congratulations to Dr. Hudgins and Dr. Baumgarten for this tremendous honor, which is indicative of their commitment to the profession of radiology and the patients they serve," says Carolyn Cidis Meltzer, MD, FACR, chair of the Department of Radiology. "Drs. Hudgins and Baumgarten have distinguished themselves among the very best clinicians, educators, and researchers in our field, and have further underscored Emory's bedrock commitment to excellence and quality."

Hudgins is director of Head and Neck Radiology, specializing in head and neck cancer. She is also director of the university's Neuroradiology Fellowship Program. She is a recognized educator in the field, and lectures nationally, including at the Armed Forces Institute of Pathology. Hudgins has served as president of both the American Society of Head and Neck Radiology and American Society of Neuroradiology. Over Hudgins' 22-year academic career she has published 90 papers and 15 book chapters, and has been a frequent presenter at major radiology meetings.

Baumgarten has had an active role in the administration of the department as an associate program director for the diagnostic radiology residency since 2000 and as the director of the Abdominal Imaging Fellowship since 1998. She has been recognized for outstanding teaching, consistently rated among the top teachers in the department and twice winning the 'Teacher of the Year' award (1997 and 2004). She is also very active nationally serving on numerous committees for the various organizations to which she belongs. She speaks regularly in plenary sessions and workshops at the Society of Uroradiology and during instructional courses at the Radiological Society of North America (RSNA) and served as the overall course director for the Case Based Review Course at the American Roentgen Ray Society this year.

The American College of Radiology is a national non-profit association serving more than 34,000 radiologists, radiation oncologists, interventional radiologists, nuclear medicine physicians and medical physicists with programs focusing on the practice of radiology and the delivery of comprehensive health care services.


The Robert W. Woodruff Health Sciences Center of Emory University is an academic health science and service center focused on missions of teaching, research, health care and public service.

Learn more about Emory’s health sciences:
Twitter: @emoryhealthsci

News Release Tools

  • Print

News Releases

The news release you are currently viewing is part of an archive of Emory health sciences press releases, dating Sept. 2008 - Dec. 2011.

To View Current Releases

Emory News Center

Emory News Center

To View News Archives

News Archives

News Archives